Phoenix, AZ and Suwon, South Korea Sign Sister City Partnership

On October 28, 2021, a Sister City Agreement was signed between Phoenix, Arizona and Suwon, Korea. These two cities signed the agreement, establishing Phoenix, Arizona’s 11th Sister City partnership, while it is the first U.S. based sister city partnership for Suwon. 

Phoenix’s sister cities are the following: 

  • Calgary, Canada 
  • Catania, Italy
  • Chengdu, China 
  • Ennis, Ireland
  • Grenoble, France
  • Hermosillo, Mexico
  • Himeji, Japan
  • Prague, Czech Republic
  • Ramat-Gan Israel
  • Taipei, Taiwan
  • And now, Suwon, South Korea 
Suwon, South Korea has the following Sister City partnerships: 
  •  Asahikawa City, Japan
  • Jinan City, China
  • City of Townsville, Australia
  • Bandung, Indonesia
  • Yalova City, Turkey
  • Cluj-Napoca City, Romania
  • Toluca, Mexico
  • City of Fez, Morocco
  • Hai Duong, Vietnam
  • Cambodia Siem Reap Province 
  • Nizhny Novgorod City, Russia
  • Curitiba, Brazil
  • City of Freiburg, Germany 
  • And now, Phoenix, Arizona 
The two mayors, Phoenix Mayor Kate Gallego and Suwon Mayor Yeom-Tae Young met in Phoenix to sign the agreement. The agreement’s benefits include: 
  1. Information sharing concerning Smart Cities initiatives and sustainability;
  2. Youth education exchanges including the Youth Ambassador Exchange Program, which pairs classrooms together around STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, the Arts, and Math) topics, and Korean culture and language learning programs;
  3. Arts, culture and sports exchanges. 

The partnership will also promise business exchanges and possible foreign investments, as Suwon is home to Samsung, the multinational electronics manufacturer. 

As sister cities are about building trust and forging a strong relationship with an international city that shares similar values, we hope that Phoenix and Suwon have a fruitful and strong relationship. 

Congratulations, Phoenix and Suwon sister cities!